American telly

There are a lot of weird things about British TV (telly!), but one that I find particularly weird is the ubiquity of The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. It seems like it’s on almost all the time, or is on at the times of day when I happen to be flipping channels. But do Brits actually watch it?

That’s from a few years ago on The Graham Norton Show, a late-night talk show. Will even came back last year and did it again, this time with his son Jaden, DJ Jazzy Jeff, and Alfonso Ribeiro. And people still know all the words.

Don’t get me wrong, I love how popular American TV shows are over here. But if I could pick one show to be on whenever I turn on the TV, the show that always makes it feel like home, it would have to be The Nanny.

I’m showing my age now. I openly love this show; it never was a guilty pleasure for me, even though a lot of people find Fran Drescher’s voice incredibly grating, and the American actor playing the butler does an unnecessarily plummy English accent. I’ve never seen it on UK TV and I don’t think I ever will, although one channel recently started airing Due South, one of the best shows of all time, from the beginning, so there’s hope. But luckily for me, I don’t have to wait. Some thoughtful soul has performed the selfless task of putting The Nanny on Youtube.

Now if I could only find decent bagels, I’d be set.

Leave a Reply

